

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

March 10, 2021, 1:30 P.M. Chesapeake Event Center at the Oklahoma History Center 800 Nazih Zuhdi Dr. Oklahoma City, OK 73105

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT:	Secretary Ryan Walters, Dr. Joanna Lein, Katherine Nations, Brett MacArthur and John Daniel. Kenneth Parker arrived at 1:44 p.m.
COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT:	None
OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES:	Office of Educational Quality and Accountability Staff: Dr. Daniel Craig, Renée Launey-Rodolf, Abby Murphey, Jerry Shay, Angie Bookout, Lecrecia Schmidt, David Kurt, and Ashley Poole
VISITORS:	Kim Boyd, Oral Roberts University; Darin Martin, Oklahoma Christian University; Esther Rehbein and Vickie Hinkle, Mid-America Christian University

Call to Order: Secretary Ryan Walters called the meeting to order at 1:33 p.m.

Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call: Secretary Walters asked for the roll call to be taken. Six Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Page 1 of 3

Welcome from Dr. Daniel Craig: Dr. Daniel Craig, OEQA Executive Director, welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Approval of Minutes from the December 09, 2020 Commission Meeting: Dr Lein made a motion to approve the minutes of the December 09, 2020 Commission meeting as submitted. Ms. Nations seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:	approve	Ms. Nations:	approve
Dr. Lein:	approve	Mr. Parker:	absent
Mr. MacArthur:	approve		
Secretary Walters:	approve		

Discussion and Action: Appointment of a Vice-Chair of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability per Oklahoma Administrative Code 218: 1-1-4: Secretary Walters asked for nominations for a Vice-Chair for the CEQA. Ms. Nations nominated Dr. Lein. Secretary Walters seconded the nomination. The nomination passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:	approve	Ms. Nations:	approve
Dr. Lein:	approve	Mr. Parker:	absent
Mr. MacArthur:	approve		
Secretary Walters:	approve		

Discussion and Action: Continued State Accreditation for Oklahoma Christian University: Secretary Walters made a motion to continue accreditation for seven years. Dr. Lein seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:	approve	Ms. Nations:	approve
Dr. Lein:	approve	Mr. Parker:	abstain
Mr. MacArthur:	approve		
Secretary Walters:	approve		

Discussion and Action: Continued State Accreditation for Mid-America Christian University: Dr. Lein made a motion to continue accreditation for seven years. Ms. Nations seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:	approve	Ms. Nations:	approve
Dr. Lein:	approve	Mr. Parker:	approve
Mr. MacArthur:	approve		
Secretary Walters:	approve		

Program Updates: Dr. Daniel Craig, David Kurt, and Renée Launey-Rodolf gave updates on potential legislation changes, school profiles, program reviews, JAG-OK, test redevelopment, and feedback from education preparation programs on learning in a virtual environment.

New Business: None.

Page 2 of 3

Announcements and Informational Items: None

The meeting adjourned at 2:27 p.m. The minutes of the March 10, 2021 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

as submitted

with corrections

on April 21, 2021.

Signed:

Secretary Ryan Walters

Dr. Daniel Craig, Executive Director

Page 3 of 3